European Travel Destinations

Holy See

General Information about Holy See

Vatican Statue

Holy See (Vatican City State) is the smallest independent state in the world. It is based in Rome with some territories outside of its state in Rome and in other parts of Italy. The Holy See is the Central Government of the Roman Catholic Church, and has existed since medieval times. Vatican City was founded in June 1929 after an agreement between the Holy See and the Italian Government.

Saint Peter's Basilica, perhaps the Vatican's most well known church, has a history going back to 1612 when the work to enlarge and restore the Constantinian Basilica was completed. Saint Peter's Basilica can host 20000 people. The Vatican Museums are open to the public and have many displays of fine art and archaeological discoveries some of which go back to the 3rd century AD.

Holy See Destinations

Travel Guides for Destinations in Holy See

Holy See Photo Gallery (3 of 3 Photos)


Find Out About The Climate Of The Holy See

Summers at the Holy See are hot and dry while the winters are mild and wet.


Geographical Information About The Holy See

The Holy See is located in the Southern parts of Europe and is an enclave of Rome, Italy. It has zero coastline with a total area of 0.44 square kilometres. Most of the state is low hill with zero percent of arable land. It is the world's smallest state with a population of up to 870. The main languages spoken are Italian and Latin.


Learn About The Economy At The Holy See

The official currency of the Holy See is the Vatican lire with none of the country's population living under the poverty line. The main occupations are priests, nuns dignitaries and guards as well as guard workers. The country's noncommercial economy is supported largely by contributions from Roman Catholics all over the world. Also sales from postage stamps, tourist mementos, and museum fees are a huge support to the country's economy.